Tag Archives: News

Student Leadership Conference

Two weeks ago we had a student leadership conference run by Mrs Clark.
There were three guest speakers:
Antonia Baker from the Property Market spoke about goal setting.
Rebecca Kirk, a research scientist from Plant & Food, talked about working hard for what you want.
Nathan Rarere from Radio Sport talked about the importance of communication and taking advantage of opportunities.
These were great topics and hopefully sparked a light for those children present. Big thanks to these three speakers, and to Mrs Clark.

Congratulations Mrs Dobbs

Karen Dobbs, one of our brilliant teacher aides, celebrates 25 years of service at Matipo Primary.

As I have said many times before, Karen does the work of a teacher. She is highly respected by staff and loved by the children she works with.

Board of Trustees By-election Results

Matipo Primary School

Board of Trustees’ By-Election

Declaration of Parent By-Election Results

Parent representative votes:


Colegate  Hollie                63

Donald Rozanne               53

Lamb Rebecca                   83

Preston Vanessa              89

Rarere Nathan                  104

Smith Phillip                      26

Stunzner Kurt                    37

Wilson Luke                       55


I hereby declare the following duly elected:

Nathan Rarere                   Vanessa Preston              Rebecca Lamb



Jenny Atkins

Returning Officer


The advertisement for the new principal position went on-line yesterday and already 14 requests for the information pack have been received.

The appointment will be made by the end of this term with the successful applicant to take over at the beginning of Term 4. Wayne is retiring at the end of Term 3.

BoT By-Election

A message from the Matipo BOT:

Good Afternoon All,

Last night the BOT met to discuss and finalise the upcoming BOT By-Election for our school. Please note the following points for your information;

Voting day for the By-Election has been set for Friday 19th May 2017

The BOT have voted unanimously to increase the make up of the parent voice on the BOT to six members.

At the last BOT meeting the board chose to look for a Returning Officer from within our school cluster to manage the upcoming By-Election. The BOT voted to accept an independent Returning Officer from another school, who is already trained to do the role, is Police vetted and very experienced as a Returning Officer. The selected Returning Officer has undertaken this role at their current school nine times.

Further information regarding the upcoming By-Election is on its way to you soon.


Should you be interested in becoming a Board of Trustees member or want more information please pop in to the school office or speak to one of the current members of the BOT. We are more than willing to share our experiences with you.

Faga Siaki

Parent Rep

BOT Matipo School

The dangers of rumours and gossip and how the art of slow and being well informed can save the day

The dangers of rumours and gossip and how the art of slow and being well informed can save the day

By Gary Moore, Principal, Rutherford College
First published in the Rutherford College newsletter March 22, 2017

The purpose of this article is to reinforce the value of checking information/ gossip using the triple filter test as a process.

So much negativity can be avoided if firstly we verify the facts and whether the information is true, and then whether it is either good or useful before passing it on verbally or digitally. I also believe this includes taking the time to pause and reflect before liking something on Facebook. The desire for a speedy response can start a negative chain reaction.

What’s Important Now is for us to learn the art of slow, an ability to calm down and check things out properly before maybe wrongly assuming you have all the information. At Rutherford we don’t ‘assume’, we slow down and apply the triple filter test.

Please keep the philosophy of the triple filter test in mind the next time you either hear, or are about to repeat a rumour.

Socrates. (469 – 399BC) the great Greek philosopher came upon an acquaintance who ran up to him excitedly and said, “Socrates, do you know what I just heard about one of your students? “Wait a moment,” Socrates replied. “Before you tell me I’d like you to pass a little test. It’s called the Triple Filter Test.”
“Triple filter?” “That’s right,” Socrates continued. “Before you talk to me about my student let’s take a moment to filter what you’re going to say. The first filter is Truth. Have you made absolutely sure that what you are about to tell me is true?”
No,” the man said, “actually I just heard about it and … ” “All right,” said Socrates. “So you don’t really know if it’s true or not. Now let’s try the second filter, the filter ofGoodness. Is what you are about to tell me about my student something good?”
“No, on the contrary…” “So,” Socrates continued, “you want to tell me something bad about him, even though you’re not certain it’s true?”
Socrates continued. “You may still pass the test though, because there is a third filter – the filter of Usefulness. Is what you want to tell me about my student going to be useful to me?”
“No, not really…” “Well,” concluded Socrates, “if what you want to tell me is neither True nor Good nor even Useful, why tell it to me at all?”

We can all develop this type of wisdom.

Athletics Day Results 2017



2017 Athletics Champions

Year 1 Tony Zhong & Nathan Yovich
Year 2 Riley Jacobs
Year 3 Noah Petley
Year 4 Tane Keereweer-Taia
Year 5 Cruz Jacobs-Oto
Year 6 Michael Stuart

Year 1 Mila Curran
Year 2 Ashlee Hari
Year 3 Marnia Pereira-Mauai
Year 4 Ava Marsters
Year 5 Grace Oloi
Year 6 Grace Jarvie-Otufangavalu