Assessment Systems

There are many different types of assessment that is used to help teachers plan for lessons and children’s learning. All assessment is based around where the child is and where do they need to be. The gap in the middle of course is what they need to learn.

You may have heard the term Progress Achievement Tests, (PAT) and in fact you would have had PAT tests when you were at school. At Matipo School we do the PAT tests two times a year, term 1 and term 4. PAT tests are called a norm reference test. A norm referenced test measures how a child is doing against their peers.

In 2015 children at Matipo School took PAT tests online using iPad’s and the early results have indicated that they have performed better this way than with paper and pencil. PAT tests at Matipo School are given to Year 3 – 6 children. The year 3 children only do PAT’s in Mathematics with the year 4 – 6 children doing reading comprehension and reading vocabulary as well. PAT tests are multi choice.

Marking and Scoring the Test

‘Once a raw score has been converted to a scale score, it is possible to compare a student’s achievement with the achievement of nationally representative groups of students at different year levels (known as national reference groups). Because PATs have been tested nationally in a statistically rigorous way on all year groups, we know the average score and the likely range of scores for students in maths, reading comprehension, reading vocabulary and listening comprehension for each year level. A scale score of 60, for instance, represents very high achievement for a Year 4 student, but represents below average achievement for a student in Year 10. These national norms come from testing done at the beginning of the school year. So if your child sits PATs towards the end of the year, it is best to compare their achievement against the national reference group for the next year level.’

For more information on these tests see:-

Other tests used at Matipo School include

  • One Month Checks
  • Six Year Net
  • Running Records
  • M Benchmark (Reading, Year 0 – 3)
  • Probe (Reading, Year 4 – 6)
  • Asttle writing
  • Junior Assessment in Maths (JAM)
  • Global Learning of Strategy Stage (GLoSS)
  • IKAN (assesses the knowledge they have in maths)
  • Schonell Spelling

 National Standards

To determine whether a child is at National Standard the teacher uses some of the above tests (depending on level) to make an Overall Teacher Judgement (OTJ) on what the child is able to do. In doing this it means the child is looked at across all of their learning and not just a test to decide if they are above, at, below or well below the standard. There is clearly defined National Standards for where a child should be.

After 1 years  After 2 years  After 3 years  After 4 Years  After 5 Years  After 6 Years

For a child to be below standard then they must be closer to the previous standard. To be well-below they would need to be closer to the standard two years previous. Example being if a year 6 child at the end of the year is reading at the year 5 standard then they are ‘below’, if they are reading at the year 4 standard then they are ‘well below’.

National Standards for year 1 – 3 are done on anniversary of time at school. From years 4 – 6 it is done at the end of the year.


Junior Reading Levels

Junior reading is divided into a colour wheel, magenta, red, yellow, blue, green, orange, turquoise, purple and gold. Each level breaks down further into an age band and a level.


Practical information about education for parents and carers

An excellent website for information on schooling across the years from the Ministry of Education